oh, pebble

**possible trigger warning**

 

Oh, pebble, don’t you come and steal me anymore.

I’m standing right outside your neighbor’s light-blue painted door

In the cold deadfall rain. That’s about all going right,

With horrors bottled up, out in this dreadful sum of night.

 

Satan’s cursed me in the boldest breath of tethered wings

But I don’t know much about these crazy little things.

Just pull it out, throw me down – let the waterfall come in.

My foot is on the drain and I won’t see my home again.

 

The truth is here, the time is now for clearing up the fog.

Won’t you know to tell me how to stop seeing wagons in the log?

I’m choking, screaming, gagging – my heart’s completely sore

Now that’s stopped, a vein has popped, and it don’t hurt no more.

 

Oh, pebble, don’t you come no more.

Don’t you come no more.

Don’t you come no more.

 

Oh, pebble, don’t you come and steal me anymore.

I’m whiskied in a bottle lying tightened to the floor

Of that shackled-point drag house of a kitchen we put in

When we moved next to a tailor who drank his eggs and ate his gin.

 

There’s blood on my shoes, but the black is made of white.

Won’t you tell me that you see me though my candle needs a light?

The dogs are barking now, and the drums are made of squid.

But I am done complaining so go on and close the lid.

 

I’ve wasted trading onions for bad canola oil.

Put the pot under the stove until it bubbles to a boil.

Shave the back hair off my trigger finger. Come on, make it fast

‘Cause this night’s looking out to be the first one or the last.

 

Oh, pebble, don’t you come no more.

Don’t you come no more.

Don’t you come no more.

 

Oh, pebble, don’t you come and steal me anymore.

All this tackle in my shoebox that I have to drag ashore

Has put dreams inside the coffin and left me living in

A body on the side of the beach, hounded by the wind.

 

Oh, pebble, don’t you come no more.

Don’t you come no more.

Don’t you come no more.

Oh, pebble, don’t you come no more.

Leave a Reply

